Education System in UK

Do you desire to get your education from the best institutes in the UK? Well, many people like you dream the same. But before you apply for education in UK, you need to know the education system in UK properly. In this article, we will give some insight into the education system in UK.

Compulsory education in the UK

In the UK, it is compulsory to go through education phases for children between the age of 5 and 16. The education stages can be fragmented in different stages like pre-primary, primary, secondary and further education and higher education. FE or further education is not compulsory after crossing secondary level.

Preprimary or early years’ education

In education system in UK, only 3-4 years’ children are eligible for free nursery class for the duration of 15 hours for 38 weeks in one year. Categories of early years of education include state nursery schools, nursery classes, reception classes, primary schools, voluntary pre-schools, privately run nurseries or childminders. EYFS that means early years’ foundation system was implemented in 2008, and it reveals learning, development and achievements during the period of 0-5 years for the children.


Primary education stages include- nursery (under age 5), infant (from age 5 to 7 or 8) and Junior (Up to age 11 or 12). In the primary stage, children are taught basic topics for development of math, science and other subjects and basic literacy. The main target is to achieve basic numeracy and literacy among the children in the UK. At the age of 11 or 12, the children are transferred to secondary schools.


After the crossing of the level of primary, the students are eligible for secondary levels which are taught in secondary schools. Generally, schools admit students at the age of 11. All the subjects are taught, and admission to secondary school can be taken on the basis of the performance in the primary schools.

Further education

Further education is offered after passing the secondary level, but not by the universities. There is a proper distinction between FE (Further Education) and HE (Higher Education). As universities are not providing FE courses, these are taught in FE colleges, and these are basically work based learning or the vocational courses. A specific set of skills is offered to the students in this Further education.

Higher Education

Higher education may be of three phases. Undergraduate courses are offered by colleges and universities in both arts and science streams as B.A. and B.Sc. respectively. After passing graduation, students can apply for post-graduation courses. Post-Graduation course is of 4 years and also known as the Sandwich course because it is a merged course of specialization and Industry or abroad education. Even facilities for Doctorate degrees are also available with the education system in the UK. Students can avail their doctorate degrees by research work offered by the education system. But to get admitted in the Doctorate course, first class qualification in Post-Graduation is mandatory.

So, now you know about the different level of education in The UK and can apply to any of the courses that you wish to pursue in the UK- the education hub of the world.